Skip to content
Sandwell Counts — Sandwell, in numbers.Local help →

Sandwell, in numbers

People and living standards

Sandwell council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Sandwell council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 292,586 in 1991 to 352,918 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Sandwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 288,927 people in 1996; 352,918 people in 2025. 22.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Sandwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991292,586
1992291,691
1993291,614
1994291,010
1995290,700
1996288,927
1997287,666
1998287,133
1999286,085
2000285,102
2001284,594
2002285,637
2003287,135
2004288,849
2005290,447
2006292,516
2007294,603
2008298,358
2009302,303
2010306,181
2011309,042
2012312,710
2013317,499
2014321,610
2015325,911
2016330,051
2017333,826
2018336,977
2019340,198
2020341,436
2021341,895
2022345,718
2023349,541
2024353,270
2025352,918
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Sandwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 63,176 people in 1996; 76,819 people in 2025. 21.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Sandwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199160,744
199261,403
199362,427
199463,097
199563,356
199663,176
199763,181
199862,982
199962,679
200062,240
200161,483
200261,387
200361,418
200461,671
200561,863
200661,988
200762,345
200863,279
200964,621
201065,635
201166,455
201267,914
201369,693
201470,958
201572,387
201673,822
201775,102
201875,868
201976,317
202076,350
202175,572
202276,104
202376,824
202477,514
202576,819
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Sandwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 177,945 people in 1996; 224,606 people in 2025. 26.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Sandwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991183,380
1992181,842
1993180,829
1994179,702
1995179,216
1996177,945
1997176,927
1998176,926
1999176,425
2000176,232
2001176,541
2002177,873
2003179,470
2004180,989
2005182,399
2006184,551
2007186,517
2008188,964
2009191,111
2010193,681
2011195,571
2012197,175
2013199,733
2014202,064
2015204,732
2016207,167
2017209,357
2018211,444
2019214,002
2020215,112
2021216,329
2022218,976
2023221,819
2024224,573
2025224,606
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Sandwell council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,806 people in 1996; 51,493 people in 2025. 7.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Sandwell council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199148,462
199248,446
199348,358
199448,211
199548,128
199647,806
199747,558
199847,225
199946,981
200046,630
200146,570
200246,377
200346,247
200446,189
200546,185
200645,977
200745,741
200846,115
200946,571
201046,865
201147,016
201247,621
201348,073
201448,588
201548,792
201649,062
201749,367
201849,665
201949,879
202049,974
202149,994
202250,638
202350,898
202451,183
202551,493
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 341,832 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sandwell · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh88,02425.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African29,7798.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups14,6804.3%
White195,62457.2%
Other ethnic group13,7254%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 308,063 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sandwell · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White215,47169.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,1993.3%
Asian/Asian British59,25819.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British18,3576%
Other ethnic group4,7781.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 282,904 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Sandwell · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White225,47879.7%
Mixed5,9942.1%
Asian/Asian British39,59214%
Black/Black British10,8163.8%
Chinese/Other1,0240.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 33.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Sandwell council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,009 per person in 1997; £17,273 per person in 2024. 115.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Sandwell council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,009
19988,179
19998,530
20008,936
20019,159
20029,341
20039,611
20049,972
200510,050
200610,313
200710,526
200810,681
200911,043
201011,177
201111,367
201211,679
201311,889
201412,405
201512,851
201613,165
201713,294
201813,544
201913,995
202014,209
202114,644
202215,374
202316,370
202417,273
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Sandwell council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -24.5% in 1997; -33.5% in 2024. 9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Sandwell council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-24.5
1998-24.5
1999-24.6
2000-24.9
2001-26
2002-26.2
2003-26.3
2004-26.5
2005-28.5
2006-29.6
2007-31.4
2008-32.2
2009-31
2010-30.8
2011-30.2
2012-30.9
2013-32.1
2014-31.4
2015-32.4
2016-31.6
2017-32.5
2018-33.6
2019-33.6
2020-32.3
2021-33
2022-33.1
2023-33.1
2024-33.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53%

21 March 2021 · Sandwell council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

26.7%

21 March 2021 · Sandwell council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

28.9%

21 March 2021 · Sandwell council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.6%

21 March 2021 · Sandwell council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£206,000

July 2026 · Sandwell council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£953

August 2026 · Sandwell council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.